Tenways CGO600 PRO Singlespeed

Not legal advice. This page shows the published specs we recorded and the category our classifier matched them to, with sources. It is not a legal opinion or a ruling by any authority. A specific bike can differ from its published spec or be modified. If in doubt, check the official sources below.

Last checked: 2026-10-31 (the date of our model record; the specs were fetched on 31 Oct 2026).

Recorded category

E-bike, according to the IsItRoadLegal.ie classification of 31 Oct 2026 (IRL Classifier, thresholds version 2026-10-31c). This is a match of the published specs against the official category thresholds, not a confirmation from an authority.

Caveats recorded with this classification:

Unlocking or modifying this e-bike

The E-bike class on this page covers the bike as sold, measured against gov.ie's e-bike requirements: up to 250 watts continuous rated power, a motor that cuts off when pedalling stops, and assistance that cuts off before 25 km/h (gov.ie, E-Bikes). gov.ie says: "An electronic bicycle that does not meet these technical requirements is categorised as an e-moped" (gov.ie, E-Bikes). Under s.16, a bicycle that can be propelled solely by electrical power (design speed of at least 6 km/h), or a pedal-assisted one with a motor over 0.25 kW, is a "mechanically propelled vehicle" (Road Traffic and Roads Act 2023, s.16(b)).

If the motor keeps running when pedalling stops, gov.ie says "this is a throttle-assisted L1e-A or L1e-B e-moped", requiring "registration, motor tax and insurance" and a Category AM licence (gov.ie, Find Your Category; gov.ie, L1e-B). gov.ie's L1e-A page words insurance differently: "where the vehicle weighs more than 25kg and has a maximum design speed greater than 14 kilometres per hour" (gov.ie, L1e-A). The RSA says an e-moped without a Certificate of Conformity "can't be registered", and "If it can't be registered, it can't be used in a public place" (RSA).

Not legal advice. Last checked: 2026-10-31.

Manufacturer unlock / private-use mode

If a vehicle has a mode that exceeds the e-bike limits that gov.ie lists (up to 250 watts continuous rated power, a motor that cuts off when pedalling stops, and assistance that cuts off before 25 km/h), gov.ie says: "An electronic bicycle that does not meet these technical requirements is categorised as an e-moped" (gov.ie, E-Bikes). Where the motor "continues to run when pedalling stops", gov.ie says "this is a throttle-assisted L1e-A or L1e-B e-moped" (gov.ie, Find Your Category). On fitted parts, the definition in s.16 covers a bicycle "with an attachment for propelling it solely by mechanical power or solely by electrical power, whether or not the attachment is being used", with a maximum design speed of at least 6 km/h, as a "mechanically propelled vehicle" (Road Traffic and Roads Act 2023, s.16(b)).

This site does not cover use on private land.

Not legal advice. Last checked: 2026-10-31.

Published specs

Spec Value Source
Motor continuous rated power250 W (MIVICE: "M070 Rear Hub Motor – Rated Power (W) 250"; Tenways: "Mivice M070 Rear Hub Motor (250W Power, 40 Nm Max. Torque)")MIVICE; Tenways
Motor peak powerNot verified (no peak power figure published)Tenways
Assistance cut-off speed25 km/h ("Top Speed 25 km/h* – The motor will stop giving assist at the stated top speed")Tenways
Pedal assistYes ("Magnetic Torque Sensor"; assist stops at 25 km/h)Tenways
ThrottleNot found in the sources checked (the manual's "Button Definitions" list only "Power button, Function button, Up button, Down button"; modes "0, 1, 2, 3, and a WALK mode"; the Tenways FAQ does not mention a throttle)Manual (PDF); Tenways FAQ; Tenways
Motor runs without pedallingNo (recorded under our evidence rules: pedal assist only, no throttle found, walk assist below 6 km/h)Manual (PDF); Tenways Help Center; Tenways
Walk assistYes ("Long press Down button for 2 seconds to activate WALK mode")Manual (PDF)
Walk-assist speedBelow 6 km/h (Tenways Help Center: "The expected speed should be below 6 km/h")Tenways Help Center
Weight16 kg per Tenways ("CGO600 Pro Classic Edition: Net weight: 16 kg (excluding all accessories)"; New Edition 17 kg; full weight 18/19 kg). Conflicting figure: the Irish retailer lists "Net weight: 15 kg". This difference does not change the recorded category: in our classification thresholds (rules/thresholds.json, version 2026-10-31c) the e-bike class has no weight limit, and the 25 kg net-weight limit is an e-scooter criterion. Likewise, the statutory definition of "pedal bicycle" contains no weight limit, while "a maximum weight unladen of 25 kilograms" appears in the definition of "powered personal transporter" (Road Traffic and Roads Act 2023, s.16(c) and (e))Tenways; 360cycles.ie
SeatNot verified (not stated on the pages checked)Tenways
CoC / type-approval numberNot verified (none published)Tenways
Throttle kit sold separately by the Irish retailerNot verified (no throttle kit offered or mentioned on the retailer page)360cycles.ie
Manufacturer unlock / off-road modeNot stated by the manufacturer (no unlock, off-road or private-use mode found on the Tenways product page or in the CGO600 Pro manual checked on 31 Oct 2026). As shipped: Not statedTenways; Manual (PDF)

All specs were fetched on 31 Oct 2026.

Where it is sold in Ireland

Listed by an Irish retailer: 360cycles.ie. This is a plain reference link, not an affiliate or sponsored link.

Photos

Photo: "Tenways CGO600 Pro Avocado Green" by Ytteroy, Wikimedia Commons, licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. Resized (Wikimedia 1280 px version), no other changes. The model is identified from the uploader's file description.

Disclaimer

Not legal advice. IsItRoadLegal.ie is an independent information site. The category shown is our classifier's match of published specs to official thresholds on the date above. It is not a ruling by the Department of Transport, the RSA, An Garda Síochána or a court. This page contains no ads, sponsored content or affiliate links.

Last checked: 2026-10-31

Sources

  1. Tenways, CGO600 Pro product page, fetched 2026-10-31: https://www.tenways.com/products/cgo600-pro
  2. MIVICE, Hub motor table (motor maker), fetched 2026-10-31: https://mivice.com/products/hub-motor/
  3. Tenways, CGO600 Pro user manual V3 (dealer-hosted copy on roadrider.nl, PDF), fetched 2026-10-31: https://roadrider.nl/wp-content/uploads/2024/08/CGO600PRO_manual_V3_online.pdf
  4. Tenways Help Center, Everything you want to know about CGO600 Pro, fetched 2026-10-31: https://tenways.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/15837368137369-Everything-you-want-to-know-about-CGO600-Pro
  5. Tenways Help Center, What to Do if Your CGO E-Bike Doesn't Provide Motor Support, fetched 2026-10-31: https://tenways.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/45230674449049-What-to-Do-if-Your-CGO-E-Bike-Doesn-t-Provide-Motor-Support
  6. 360cycles.ie retailer page (Irish retailer), fetched 2026-10-31: https://www.360cycles.ie/tenways-cgo-600-pro-singlespeed-electric-city-bike.html
  7. Department of Transport (gov.ie), Find Your Category (official threshold source): https://www.gov.ie/en/department-of-transport/publications/find-your-category/
  8. Road Safety Authority, Powered personal transportation (official threshold source): https://www.rsa.ie/road-safety/road-users/special-purpose-vehicles/powered-personal-transportation
  9. Wikimedia Commons, File:Tenways CGO600 Pro Avocado Green.jpg (CC BY-SA 4.0, by Ytteroy), checked 2026-10-31: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Tenways_CGO600_Pro_Avocado_Green.jpg
  10. Irish Statute Book (eISB), Road Traffic and Roads Act 2023, section 16 (definitions of "pedal bicycle" and "powered personal transporter"), fetched 2026-10-31: https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2023/act/16/section/16/enacted/en/html