Recorded category
Unverified / pending confirmation, according to the IsItRoadLegal.ie re-verification of 31 Oct 2026 (IRL Re-verifier). This is our own check of the published specs, not a ruling by any authority.
- Official thresholds used: gov.ie, Find Your Category; RSA, Powered personal transportation
- Spec sources used: Stevens product page (model year 2025); 360cycles.ie (Irish retailer)
Why it is pending (as recorded):
- Stevens lists walk assistance ("4 drive modes with support levels 40-250 % plus walk assistance"), but no usable published source gives its maximum speed (Stevens). Under our evidence rules, walk assist is compatible with "pedal-assist only" only if a limit of up to 6 km/h is published. An earlier walk-assist figure was removed because its source's terms do not allow reuse.
- Without that figure, "pedal-assist only" and "motor does not run without pedalling" are not met by a published spec. The throttle check now rests only on the Stevens product page (Stevens).
- The remaining sourced figures are 250 W continuous rated power ("Continuous rated power: 250 W") and "Breakaway at 25 km/h (15.5 mph)" (Stevens).
A question to the manufacturer is pending: the walk-assist maximum speed, and whether the model sold in Ireland has no throttle and no motor drive without pedalling above walk assist.
Published specs
| Spec | Value | Source | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Motor continuous rated power | 250 W ("Engine Bosch G3 Active Line – Continuous rated power: 250 W") | Stevens | |
| Motor peak power | Not verified (no peak power figure published) | Stevens | |
| Assistance cut-off speed | 25 km/h ("Breakaway at 25 km/h (15.5 mph)") | Stevens | |
| Pedal assist | Yes ("Reasonably priced pedelec in 3 frame shapes and 11 sizes"; "Silent Bosch G3 Active Line system") | 360cycles.ie (retailer page, fetched 2026-10-31) | |
| Throttle | Not stated by the manufacturer; a question to the manufacturer is pending | Stevens | |
| Motor runs without pedalling | Not stated by the manufacturer; a question to the manufacturer is pending | Stevens | |
| Walk assist | Yes ("4 drive modes ... plus walk assistance") | Stevens | |
| Walk-assist speed | Not verified (not published by Stevens; a question to the manufacturer is pending) | Stevens | |
| Weight | 24.0 kg ("Weight: 24.0 kg") | 360cycles.ie (retailer page, fetched 2026-10-31) | |
| Seat | Not verified (not stated on the pages checked) | Stevens | |
| CoC / type-approval number | Not verified (none published) | Stevens | |
| Throttle kit sold separately by the Irish retailer | Not verified (no throttle kit offered or mentioned on the retailer page) | 360cycles.ie | |
| Manufacturer unlock / off-road mode | Not stated by the manufacturer (no unlock, off-road or private-use mode found on the Stevens product page checked on 31 Oct 2026). As shipped: Not stated | Stevens |
Notes on the record: the manufacturer page used is for model year 2025. Walk assistance is present, and Stevens does not state its speed limit. All specs were fetched on 31 Oct 2026.
Where it is sold in Ireland
Listed by an Irish retailer: 360cycles.ie. This is a plain reference link, not an affiliate or sponsored link.
Photos
Photo pending permission. We only show images we have a licence or written permission to use.
Disclaimer
Not legal advice. IsItRoadLegal.ie is an independent information site. The status shown is the result of our own check of published specs against official thresholds on the date above; no category is given until the manufacturer confirms. It is not a ruling by the Department of Transport, the RSA, An Garda Síochána or a court. This page contains no ads, sponsored content or affiliate links.
Last checked: 2026-10-31
Sources
- Stevens Bikes, E-Molveno Forma Gen.1 product page (model year 2025), fetched 2026-10-31: https://www.stevensbikes.de/2025/en/de/e-tour/e-tour/e-molveno-forma-gen1/
- 360cycles.ie retailer page (Irish retailer), fetched 2026-10-31: https://www.360cycles.ie/stevens-e-molveno-forma-gen1-electric-ci-156822738.html
- Department of Transport (gov.ie), Find Your Category (official threshold source): https://www.gov.ie/en/department-of-transport/publications/find-your-category/
- Road Safety Authority, Powered personal transportation (official threshold source): https://www.rsa.ie/road-safety/road-users/special-purpose-vehicles/powered-personal-transportation