Classification
Not road legal
Rule matched, as recorded: Stand-up e-scooter; official Segway IE store spec lists only a rear fender (foot) brake, no front brake -> fails the two independent brakes (front + rear) requirement of S.I. 199/2024 -> e-scooter not compliant, Not road legal (Segway IE page also states it is not permitted on Irish public roads)
Classified 2026-10-31 against thresholds version 2026-10-31c.
Failing fields
| Field | Value | Limit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Two independent brakes, front and rear | no | two independent brakes, front and rear | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html |
Official sources
Spec sources
Specifications
| Spec | Value | Note | Source (fetched) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motor, max continuous rated power (W) | Not verified | not stated | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Motor, peak power (W) | Not verified | not stated | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Max design speed (km/h) | 12 | official IE store: 'Max. Speed Up to 12km/h'; manufacturer page: '(7.5 mph)' | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Net weight incl. battery (kg) | 4.6 | 'Net weight 4.6kg' | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Net weight includes battery | Not verified | weight stated without battery qualifier ('Net weight 4.6kg'); no statement on whether the battery is integrated/removable found on the product page or ZING A6 manual | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Battery integrated | Not verified | no statement that the battery is integrated/non-removable or removable found on the sources searched (not inferred) | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Wheel diameter incl. tyre (mm) | Not verified | sizes not stated on IE pages ('Front tyre: PU perfusion ; Rear tyre: Solid rubber') | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Length (mm) | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Width (mm) | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Height (mm) | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Seat | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Two independent brakes, front and rear | no | only 'Rear Fender Brake' stated brakes as stated: rear fender (foot) brake | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Second brake type | Not verified | only one brake published: 'Rear Fender Brake' | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| White front and red rear lamps | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Reflectors front, rear and sides | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Bell or audible device | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Manufacturer plate with power, weight, speed | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| CE marking and declaration of conformity | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| EN 17128 stated | Not verified | not stated on the pages checked | https://ie-en.segway.com/ekickscooter/products/zing-a6.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Normal speed modes | gears: 3, max speed kmh: 12 | '3 different gears' ("They will be able to pace their learning period with the 3 different gears that this eKickScooter offers for the range of 5km."); spec table 'Max. Speed' = 'Up to 12km/h' (rendered as 'Max. Speed | Up to 12km/h'). Per-gear speeds are not published on this page. | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) | |
| Manufacturer unlock / off-road mode | Not stated by the manufacturer (no unlock, off-road or private-use mode found on the Segway product page checked on 31 Oct 2026). As shipped: Not stated | No unlock, off-road, private-use or speed-mode-unlock mention on the official Segway Europe IE store page; page lists 3 gears and 'Max. Speed Up to 12km/h'. Page states: "Please note that this product is not permitted on the Irish public roads." (CEO decision 12:55: not_found set from this page). | https://shop.segway.com/ie_en/ninebot-ekickscooter-zing-a6-powered-by-segway-ie.html (2026-10-31) |
Flags
- kids' scooter (ages 6-10, max rider 40 kg)
- Segway IE pages: 'this product is not permitted on the Irish public roads' / 'not permitted on public roads'